Wednesday, November 10, 2010

The Japanese Food Pyramid

The Japanese food pyramid, the food recommendation by the Japanese government, looks quite different than the U.S. one. Most of all, I like the person running around the water cup emphasizing the need for exercise!!

The blue cup at the top shows water and tea.

The yellow section is the largest, representing grains--mostly rice, bread, and noodles (5 to 7 servings a day). 

The green section represents vegetables--including an emphasis on mushrooms and seaweeds (5 to 6 servings a day). 

The brown section represents fish,  soy-bean dishes and eggs (emphasis in this order)(3 to 5 servings a day).

The last section is broken into two. On the left represents dairy products which you should get about 2 servings per day and fruits on the right side (2 servings per day).

There is a little string to the left representing sweets, alcohol, and coffee, which we should all be having in moderation...  or not at all.

The Japanese food guide is based on local conditions and ingredients that are seasonal, with an emphasis on rice. There is an absence of sweets and dietary supplements,  and a lot less dairy and red meat is used. A higher emphasis is placed on drinking tea (mostly green tea) and using fermented products (miso, shoyu, vinegar) with an emphasis on pleasing a presentation and moderate portions.

With no government subsidies of the dairy and beef industry, maybe the US pyramid could look similar.... (makes me think of this story).

Clean eating == japanese way of eating?

No comments:

Post a Comment